It’s a do-over of the best kind– trying to “go from strength to strength” and from good to better with this gear.

It sure has been fun so far. The first five shots

As interesting and challenging as it is to shoot with a 1x image and electronic, heads-up display overlay, this red-dot can only provide an approximation of a sight picture at 50 yards and beyond.

But that doesn’t mean I’m not enjoying it and learning by practicing with it.

I started with five shots and walked to check the group. The shots were riding high and left even after one-click adjustments.

The next five were about the same. One more adjustment to the right, and I poured the other 40 rounds into, onto and through the target. Shots one through ten-- all aimed center-red

The end result left me wondering even more about the potential this gun has with long range optics.

Of course, good optics don’t make much difference without decent eyesight to use them.

And these Eley-primed rounds have me concerned in that regard.

The ignition and recoil weight is very inconsistent, and every once in a while a round fails explosively. That is, unfortunately, Shot o’the Day.

I know better than to go out without eye-cover, especially with these rounds, but I forgot to grab them this time (it’s been a problem with small caliber guns, but that’s not good enough, and it’s no excuse).

So.

When a case rim blew out, a big cloud of smoke and a spray of grimy debris blew out of the breech (jammed open because the extractor pulled the crimp and left the case chambered) and back into my face.

Dumb. Really dumb. Really, really dumb. I still feel like I’m wiping crusty gunk out of my right eye, but there was no damage done.

I ended up with a target looking like this …

Even with two misses, the central grouping is pretty satisfying ...Once again, I’m blessed more than I deserve to be.

=== ( • ) ===

Wow, the Top Shot Elimination Challenge was cool tonight, wasn’t it? Thompsons on full-auto with multiple round mags. What a ride!