This is the first of what might be several “Firing a Brand New Gun for the First Time” days this year. What’s more fun and interesting than that?

Today is January 23rd– that is, 1/23, so I wanted to feature a gun that was “easy-as-1-2-3” to operate. My first inclination is to think, “Shotgun,” when my idea is to have an easy time putting holes in and on a target, but I’ve had this Bond Arms beauty in-hand but off-range since early last December, and it eats .410 shells along with .45 Long Colt rounds. My curiosity won out (and I’m in .45 caliber-cleaning mode right now anyway), so I called it good and chose my ammo, and headed out under heavy, thick, solid, gray skies (cold, too!).

I put a six-inch Shoot-n-C (which also gives a clear scale to the pistol itself– it’s no scrawny little pocket pea-shooter) in a torso-sized box lid and stepped off 10-12 feet. I aimed the first two LC’s with the blade front sight on center-red. The first shot was on the target– high and left. The second shot ended up higher but on line straight above the first. It couldn’t be that I was already flinching, could it?

Seems all too likely.

After aiming two, I wanted to “hip-shoot” a couple. As a last-ditch, close-range weapon (whether the threat be a poisonous snake or a “person-ous” one), deliberate aiming may not be an option, so I want to be practiced at the fluid motion of draw-cock-release safety-point-fire. Or as fluid as I can make it …

I knew enough to expect a serious kick from a shotgun shell, but after the third LC (also high and wide), I one-handed a #6 round and immediately tried to figure out if I’d broken my wrist. Wow! What a snap. Probably a good thing I left the 000-Buck in the house this time. Turns out all the bones were in place, but that wrist will be sore for a time. No major problem, but it’s another reminder that I need to improve my grip and hold strength.

The shot patterned pretty well on the target and box. The other two shells ended up wide-high right and wide left, but every shot left obvious damage. The biggest hole of all in middle-left, and it’s from the last shell’s wad. I wouldn’t want to be hit even by one of those!

The gun works. No question.

Shot o’the day is the pic of this LC slug.

That is one seriously intimidating hunk of heavy metal– a horse-pill of a bullet … some very bad medicine. And that’s just the flat-nosed Cowboy Action slug. I’ve also got a speed-load strip of ballistic-tipped Hornady Critical Defense rounds for “real” home security or concealed carry use, and their potential for devastation is almost scary.

Not being a card sharp (and not being a cheating or suspicious player or even a gambler of any kind), I don’t plan to keep this up my sleeve or at the ready under a felt-covered table. It’s a great carry piece with the proprietary holster included in the Ranger package. Not too concealable (for me anyway), but the weight of it and cross-draw positioning give it a seriously Wild West feel which is nicely complemented by the miniature circled-stars on the holster and the grips.

The Ranger II version appeals to me because of the trigger guard, too. It’s removable, but I like the extra sense of safety– at least comfortable familiarity– it provides. In the interest of full disclosure, it should be pointed out that the hold is not a natural fit for my hands. I’m still working to find the grip position that will be best for me.

Easy as … one … two … three!

I bought this as much for my interest in the engineering and design as in the practical use issue, and it’s a product of the Republic of Texas, and I like that, too.

I sincerely hope I never have to use it in an emergency. I don’t even want to think how much hearing damage it would do, especially in an enclosed space like a vehicle some thug might try to car-jack.

Please, Lord, no.