The good news is that the total group is much more tightly bunched this time, and there’s even hit on that snobby little center-red dot (that’ll teach ‘im), and there are at least 11 shots on the target. I guess that means that there’s not any real bad news, but I sure would like to see all of the holes on the target sometime …
That 7 + 1 start was instructive. Having developed the habit of starting empty, I pulled the first slide after counting seven shots. As it dawned on me that a round was chambered, I realized that this could be a good idea in a competition (or, more significantly, threat-to-life) situation. If  I remember to pull the clip after 7, then there is no re-racking needed for the new magazine. The eighth round keeps the semi-auto action going. 

I “loves me” some target practice, and I got to wondering today about the Luvs diaper box I’ve been shooting at all week. I’ve just about used up all of the usefully-sized scrap and storage boxes around the house, so I set out to see how many days I could get from this one. Seemingly, it’s got a long history already? How many years has that thing “been in the family,” I wonder? Both of our daughters are in college, so if we bought in bulk and used the cube for storage (“FINANCES” is what is says on the flap), then it might be 15 or 16 years old … maybe we just got it from a store’s pitch pile for our last big move. That would still be almost eight.

Never let it be said that we don’t like being environmentally-conscious here at the Gun-a-Day Show. In addition to collecting about half a pound of spent lead after firing and photographing was done, this box still has puposes to serve. By the time this now-heavily-perforated container ends up as fire-starter down in the bonfire pit below the pond, it will have been “recycled” for multiple uses at least eight or nine times and will have lasted for a good 15 years or more. Not bad for a stretch of corrugated pulp and binding agents which may have started out in the first place being made from recovered materials.

Shot o’the Day 22: my “don’t try this at home, even though I’m no expert, so why should I have tried it or be presuming to tell anyone else not to” picture. I have not been satisfied with the time-lapse shots I’ve attempted so far, so, in the spirit of “No Try, Only Do-ism,” I chose to put my iPhone 4 just outside the line of fire and up-close-and-personal to the target. With a small section of railroad tie as a guard for the camera set-up, I pretended that everything would be fine and any deflections or shrapnel or wood chunks would not damage it as long as I wrapped a padded belt-bag around the smartphone’s body and left only the lens exposed. This “Bubo” rig by Owle for my iPhone 4 includes a macro lens for full depth of view pictures and video, and I want to learn how to use it to shoot better pictures at least as much as I want to learn how to use the Kimber to shoot better target groups.

As it turns out, everything was fine. There were lots of wood chunks flying though. If I’ve done things right, the video should also be embedded here. If not, then please just take my word that it wasn’t just a “Try.” I “Do’ed” it, but it didn’t turn out well enough to use … (looks like the video [really a time-lapsed string of photos] works).

Wow. So it turns out that my one center-hit was the first shot. That seems like a very good thing, but it also feels to me like that makes the rest of the shots a bit more disappointing … the “dead-eye” thing may be right, but the rest of the body may not be in sync …